CHFA Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance

6900 Airport Rd., Suite 200, P.O. Box 85, Mississauga L4V 1E8 Tel: 905-677-6561 Fax: 905-677-5212 www.chfaweb.ca info@chfaweb.ca

Press Release

For Immediate Release January 17, 2007

Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance recognizes industry members for excellence

MISSISSAUGA, Ontario – Canada's furniture manufacturers, importers and retailers celebrated excellence and achievement within the industry at the 2008 Canadian Home Furnishings Awards.

Each year, the Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance recognizes the Retailer of the Year; bestows the Lifetime Achievement Award to a Canadian furniture manufacturer and presents the Retailers' Choice Award to two Canadian furniture manufacturers.

"All three of these awards have a common theme – to celebrate and recognize excellence and achievement by industry members in both the production/distribution and retail channels of distribution," said CHFA Chair, Board of Directors Laine Reynolds.

All of the award winners were honoured at a gala earlier this week during the annual Canadian Home Furnishings Market, the industry's largest and most important trade event.

Named Retailer of the Year was the father and son team of Mel and Blayne Lastman, founder and re-founder of Lastman's Bad Boy, a seven-store chain based in Toronto.

This is the seventh Retailer of the Year honour bestowed by the CHFA. The 2007 honouree was Mega Group. Prior recipients include Tom Leon, Honorary Chairman of Leon's Furniture; Bill Tepperman, Chairman of Tepperman's Furniture; Dennis Novosel of Stoney Creek Furniture, Mark Dufresne, CEO of the Dufresne Group; and, Bill Comrie, founder of The Brick.

John Colalillo, Founder and President of Superstyle Furniture; and, Mario Colalillo, Founder and President of Edgewood Furniture were named the 2008 recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Awards in recognition of their considerable business achievements.

Other recipients of the CHFA Lifetime Achievement Award include: the late Orville Mead, President and Chief Executive Officer of Durham Furniture; Bruce MacPherson Sr., President of The Gibbard Furniture Shoppes of Napanee; Patrick S. Thody, President and Chief Executive Officer of Simmons Canada (retired); Serge Racine, Chairman of Shermag Group (retired); the Sklar Brothers, founders of Sklar Peppler Furniture (retired); Guy

CHFA Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance

6900 Airport Rd., Suite 200, P.O. Box 85, Mississauga L4V 1E8 Tel: 905-677-6561 Fax: 905-677-5212 www.chfaweb.ca info@chfaweb.ca

Laflamme, Chairman of South Shore Industries; and Terry Clark, President of Acme Chrome Furniture.

For the second consecutive year, both Superstyle Furniture and Brentwood Classics were the winners within their individual class of the Retailers Choice Award, which is given by a vote of furniture retailers from across the country.

Both the Retailer of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement Awards are bestowed to the retailer and the manufacturer who not only have a track record of both growth and excellence in business and exemplary community service as well.

The Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance is an industry association representing home furnishings manufacturers, importers and suppliers.

For more information, please contact Murray Vaughan, President of the Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance at 905-677-6561 or by e-mail at murray@chfaweb.ca.